General Anxiety Disorder

It’s hard to explain the power of an anxiety disorder. It overtakes your mind and flows through your entire body. There can be something as simple as a slight change in my routine and BOOM, panic attack.

The thoughts start. This isn’t what I usually do. How do I handle this change of plans?? What do I do next? Then the physical attack starts. My heart is racing. Am I having a heart attack? I think I’m dying. I can’t breathe. Oh my gosh, I can’t swallow. Seriously, my throat isn’t working …. I’m going to suffocate. I’m going to pass out.

That’s just a small sample of a panic attack. You can tell me I wasn’t ACTUALLY having a heart attack and I wasn’t REALLY dying. Yeah that’s probably true, but what was happening was VERY real. Sooooo many times I find myself gasping for air because I literally cannot swallow or breathe. It’s real, it’s scary, and it leaves me in nothing but a mess.

There are ways to cope with GAD – Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Its not a death sentence even though feels like I’m going to die sometimes.

For ppl without anxiety, don’t ever underestimate its power. If you know someone who is struggling, don’t tell them that they are fine, just hold their hand and tell them that they will make it through. What works best for me is when my hubby looks directly in my eyes, hands on my shoulders and guides me through some deep breathing. Despite pushing him away and even yelling and screaming at him sometimes, he doesn’t turn and walk away and leave me alone. So don’t you do that either. Anxiety is real. The suffering is intense. Just be patient and never walk away, even if they scream in your face.

We need you.

About Secret Stains

I wanna do something that matters, say something different, something that sets the whole world on it's ear. i wanna do something better with the time I've been given and I wanna try to touch a few hearts in this life to prove I was here. I apologize if I seem absent minded sometimes. Sometimes I forget I'm still awake and say things out loud. Inside I am beginning to burst at the seams. There are so many secrets ... so many scars ... so many stains. This is me. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to General Anxiety Disorder

  1. whenwemumble says:

    I just got diagnosed with GAD. It can be intense at times! and there’s no bigger truth then saying people without it don’t underestimate the crippling power it has on us. Reading people’s stories (like this) always helps me best!

    Like

    • secretstains says:

      So sorry that you also struggle with GAD. It’s not a death sentence. You CAN live with this. As long as you have a good support system around you. It helps me a lot too when I read about others having these struggles because it reminds me that I’m not alone in this world. Because lord knows it’s certainly how I feel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

