ALL BECAUSE OF A STICKER 

  
On days like today I begin to have second thoughts about buying this house. It seems like we are being faced with one obstacle after the other. Today we find out that we cannot get any insurance put on the house unless we make a few changes. 
Every wood burning stove has a certification sticker on the back. That sticker is very important. It gives all the necessary information about the stove, including when it was last inspected. It’s illegal to have a wood stove in your home without that sticker. 

Let me backtrack a couple of days. We set up a meeting and went to the company that we have our car insurance through so that we could ask questions and hopefully add home insurance to our current policy, hoping that doing the bundle would save us a little.  Things looked good and the quote we were given was something we were really pleased with. We were given some papers to take home and fill out as well as a list of pictures that we needed to take and email in. 

  
We completed the papers. 

Took the pictures of our front and back entrances as well as every possible angle of the stove, and emailed them in. 

Then today we go for another meeting and were told that 

  • We have to remove the stove and all vents and chimneys, and get rid of the option of using wood heat and then switch over to electric

OR

  • We need to go out and purchase a brand new wood stove. Install it. Switch to all new chimney piping. And get it W.E.T.T. certified. THEN we can start the application process over again to get home insurance. 

  
But get this. Do you know WHY we have to do this?! ?!?! Some $$$$ person painted the stove black. That’s fine. Fireproof paint is not an issue. But they painted over the certification sticker!!! Now, there is nothing but a slight ridge/outline of the most important thing on that stove, making it completely illegible and no longer valid. 

So …….. a little black sticker is now going to cost us approximately $3,000.00

I’m disgusted! I’m heartbroken. I’m frustrated and angry and just downright fed up. I bought a house dammitt!! When can I start feeling like its home?!

  

About Secret Stains

I wanna do something that matters, say something different, something that sets the whole world on it's ear. i wanna do something better with the time I've been given and I wanna try to touch a few hearts in this life to prove I was here. I apologize if I seem absent minded sometimes. Sometimes I forget I'm still awake and say things out loud. Inside I am beginning to burst at the seams. There are so many secrets ... so many scars ... so many stains. This is me. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ALL BECAUSE OF A STICKER 

  1. kat says:

    welcome to home ownership! looks like you are getting initiated by fire. i was in your place one time, and eventually, i realized, the responsibilities and problems of owning a home are never ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

