Don’t 

Don’t tell me that you understand,Don’t tell me that you know.

Don’t tell me that I will survive,

How I will surely grow.
Don’t tell me this is just a test,

That I am truly blessed.

That I am chosen for this task,

Apart from all the rest.
Don’t come at me with answers

That can only come from me.

Don’t tell me how my grief will pass

That I will soon be free.
Don’t stand in pious judgement

Of the bonds I must untie.

Don’t tell me how to suffer,

And don’t tell me how to cry.
My life is filled with selfishness,

My pain is all I see.

But I need you, I need your love,

Unconditionally.
Accept me in my ups and downs,

I need someone to share.

Just hold my hand and let me cry

And say, “My friend, I care.”

One thought on “Don’t 

Leave a Reply

