Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy/Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

RSD is a very painful disease/illness.  It’s considered the most painful illness known to the medical community.  I have been dealing with this for the past 4 years and I continue to battle with it every single day and what it’s doing to my body.  It started in my left leg and has gradually gone full body.  I deal with the burning, stabbing, throbbing, and pins and needles everywhere.  The pain is never the same. The only continuous thing is the pain itself. Most days I take pain meds like candy.

CRPS and RSD are the same thing.  Multiple names are used for the same crippling monster. It affects females more then males.  Sometimes it is unknown as to the cause of this developing. Other times it can be triggered by a trauma and mine started with my broken back in the car accident. My skin is usually cold and the deeper surfaces are hot and have an exaggerated blood circulation. This is resulting in osteoporosis, increased risk of fractures of my bones, areas of extreme swelling and fluid formation between my bones and joints can be identified on MRI, and severe pain is always affecting every part of me.

In some cases of RSD the blood vessels to the kidney are affected causing episodes of sudden brief and temporary bleeding through the kidney accompanied by a marked elevation of blood pressure. This can also cause nose bleeds, severe headaches, dizziness, and even passing out spells. Avoiding ice, encouraging light exercise, moist heat, epsom salts and hot water, and the newer antidepressants as the best treatments for RSD. Daily scheduled doses of morphine and percocet are also a part of my current treatment. All of which seem to be failing me miserably because I am currently experiencing more pain and discomfort than ever before.

And after my most recent appointment with my doctor, a new treatment for me to consider – medical marijuana. Now where do I go from here?

One thought on “Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy/Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

  1. I have been dealing with RSD since I was 13 but didn’t start treatment till a few years ago (I was 38) I originally had a sports injury and it was only in my legs and now full body complicated by multiple Neuro diseases and other conditions. Just know you aren’t alone. I’ve been battling 30 years and thought I was the only one but didn’t know what I was dealing with. Good thing for Internet , we can look up our illnesses and become our own advocate

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

