Ceraunophilia – Loving Thunder & Lightening

 

Thunderstorms …. I absolutely LOVE them!!! One of my favorite things that comes with the summer months would be these storms.  The louder and harder the thunder claps, the better. The heavier the rain falls the more excited I get. I have the curtains and windows wide open and I turn off everything inside the house, like the lights, the tv, and the computer. I don’t want any distractions during a thunderstorm.

Sometimes it rains so hard against the windows that everything outside looks all blurry. Its like a single firework gets shot off. The entire sky lights up, exposing every detail, but only for a split second. The deep rumble of thunder radiates through my entire being. I can’t express how much I love experiencing the fierceness of nature during these thunderstorms. I am vaguely aware that I’m not truly safe in that moment, as it could turn on me in an instant. And then that twisted light streaks through the sky. A moment later the crash rattles the glass in my china cabinet, but I hardly notice.

For a short period of time, while I wait out the storm, I feel so oddly relaxed by nature’s fury. Life will go back to normal soon. Routines will resume as before. But just for a moment longer, I absorb the awe and beauty in the midst of chaos. 

About Secret Stains

I wanna do something that matters, say something different, something that sets the whole world on it's ear. i wanna do something better with the time I've been given and I wanna try to touch a few hearts in this life to prove I was here. I apologize if I seem absent minded sometimes. Sometimes I forget I'm still awake and say things out loud. Inside I am beginning to burst at the seams. There are so many secrets ... so many scars ... so many stains. This is me. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

