Trauma At Its Finest 

I had a horribly traumatic day. Im worn out and my entire body hurts. My head is spinning and I just want this day to end. Having some cuddles with my fur baby while trying to calm the overwhelming guilt I am feeling. We went on a ferry for the first time today and Zoey was petrified. My dog was hyperventilating and foaming at the mouth. She shivered and shook and trembled and froze dead in her tracks on the vehicle ramp. David had to carry her, all 70 pounds of her, up 2 flights of stairs because we were required to go to the passenger area. My dog is deathly afraid of heights and here were were up on a second level deck of a boat that kept blowing horns and that made her even worse. Then we had to go through it all again to get her down from the deck and back to our car. Once in the car she collapsed and her head was held up by my hand for 30 minutes because she was so relieved to be in mommys arms. 

That at 7:30 we had to go through it all over again in order to go home. My heart is broken tonight after seeing the intense fear in her eyes just pleading with me to make it all stop. We are all traumatized by today. I feel like a horrible mommy. 

So I’m cuddling with her and lying on her back as she sleeps. We witnessed fears and anxieties in our precious Zoey that we knew she had but never dreamed it was this bad. When your dog is having a meltdown and you don’t know how to help her you feel heartache unlike anything felt before. 


L

One thought on “Trauma At Its Finest 

Leave a Reply

